Moving on

by katekbarber

The last few months have been crazy! I finished my thesis exhibition and defense (for more on the book), taught a case binding workshop, finished up two jobs, packed up everything into boxes, drove 1800 miles with two dogs, two cars, and a 22ft truck/trailer, took everything out of boxes, and now find myself settling into our new life in North Adams, Massachusetts. Since arriving, I have made all sorts of exciting book related connections in the community.

Last week, I helped out at the first DownStreet Art opening of the summer at PRESS (a local community letterpress space). It was a great event and was so wonderful to be welcomed into a new community of makers. I’m really looking forward to seeing how I can get involved. And then if that wasn’t enough over the weekend, I serendipitously met Peter Hopkins of Crane paper. For the past two years, Peter has been growing hops and has just opened a new tasting bar, which is where we met him. We tried all kinds of wonderful Vermont cheeses and wine. Of note, was the country’s best blue cheese, which was the smoothest, most delicious cheese you can imagine. I’m meeting with him tomorrow at the Crane Museum where he’s going to tell me more about what he does and Crane paper.

In the meantime, I’m working on setting up my studio so I can start working on a few projects. A few days ago I picked up with table at the local Goodwill for $13!?!?! I wish I had had the foresight to take a before shot, because let me tell you, that this table has been transformed from its rusted, cobweb-covered, gray wood laminate saddness into something pretty spiffy.

10462472_10104724920168953_3667162073168955115_n

